Nursery School Curriculum

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework which sets the standard for the learning, development and care of young children – from birth to five. It is designed to enable all children to develop their personalities, talents and abilities irrespective of ethnicity, culture or religion, home language, family background, learning difficulties, disabilities or gender.

Children develop quickly in the early years, and our qualified teams aim to do all they can to help children to fulfil their potential and get them ready for school within a happy, active, exciting, fun and secure environment.

The Characteristics of Effective Learning

The ways in which the child engages with other people and their environment – playing and exploring, active learning, and creating and thinking critically – underpin learning and development across all areas and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. They are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. These are:

* Communication and language

* Physical development

* Personal, social and emotional development

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 Specific areas. These are:

* Literacy

* Mathematics

* Understanding the world

* Expressive arts and design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. This is a bit like a school curriculum, but suitable for very young children. It is designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child’s unique needs and interests, and includes both indoor and outdoor activities.

For more detailed information about how we use the EYFS at Peek-A-Boo Nursery please speak to any member of staff. You will also find a link to ‘Development Matters in the Early Years Foundation Stage’ on the ‘Forms & Letters’ section of our website.